2000 Gold 4-Coin Sovereign Proof Set

The 2000 Gold 4-Coin Sovereign Proof Set consists of:

  • 2000 Gold Five-Pound (Quintuple Sovereign)
  • 2000 Gold Double Sovereign (Gold Two-Pound)
  • 2000 Gold Sovereign
  • 2000 Gold Half-Sovereign
Benedetto Pistrucci's famous portrayal of St. George slaying the dragon is depicted on each of the reverses.

Queen Elizabeth II's fourth portrait can be seen on the obverse of all four coins, designed by Ian Rank-Broadley

The four coins are all made of solid 22 carat gold (Gold fineness of 0.916), and are housed in their original Royal Mint acrylic screw top capsules. The coins are presented in their Royal Mint green leatherette presentation case, accompanied with an individually numbered certificate of authenticity.

Only 1,000 sets were issued by the Royal Mint in 2000.

Coin Weights

  • Five Pounds: 39.94g
  • Two Pounds: 15.98g
  • Sovereign: 7.98g
  • Half Sovereign: 3.99g
The first modern 4 coin gold proof sovereign set was issued by the Royal Mint in 1980. Each set contains just over 2 ounces of pure gold, and are popular with coin collectors and bullion investors alike. A set was issued in 1980, 1982, 1985, and every year from 1989 to 2008 (The 5 coin sovereign set was introduced from 2009).

Mintage: 1,000 (may include coins in sets)
Minted at The Royal Mint.
Remember 2000 ?
Into the New Century. Fears of the Y2K computer problem pass without problem. Monarch is Queen Elizabeth II, in her 48th year as Queen. Prime Minister is Tony Blair (Labour). Bill Clinton is U.S. President but George W Bush has narrowly won the election to be next President. Queen Elizabeth The Queen Mother celebrates her 100th birthday. The Olymic Games are in Sydney, Australia. In Russia, Vladimir Putin is the new President.
Elizabeth II (1952-Present)
Queen Elizabeth II is the current and longest reigning monarch ever. Born on 21 April 1926 to King George VI and Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon, she became Queen in 1952 and her Coronation was on 2 June 1953.

Queen Elizabeth II has issued many coins and was monarch during decimalisation.
General Description: Gold 4-Coin Sets
Which Mint: The Royal Mint
The Royal Mint is the designated place for the UK to mint coins. It dates back well over 1000 years and is a Government-owned company. 

Formed in the reign of Alfred the Great about the year 886, during the period 1279-1812 it was generally referred to as The Tower Mint as it was housed at the Tower of London. The Master of The Royal Mint has included famous figures such as Sir Isaac Newton.

Since 2010 it has operated as Royal Mint Ltd, a company owned by HM Treasury, under an exclusive contract to supply all coinage for the UK although it also produces medals and coins for other countries. It is currently located at Llantrisant, Wales.

There is also an on-line shop at The Royal Mint Shop.
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
The United Kingdom (UK) is the Union of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is often refered to as Great Britain (GBR). It has a long, rich history.

The orignal coinage was Pounds, Shillings and Pence but since decimalisation on 15 February 1971, it is £1 = 100p, that is One Pound = 100 pence. The coinage of the UK is also a long history, the Royal Mint being established as long ago as 886AD when coins were hammered. Today there is perhaps 30 billion coins in circulation, and many (numismatic) collectors coins and sets are issued frequently in gold, silver and other metals.
If you don't see a coin in the list below try the Gold 4-Coin Sets page on eBay UK

List of items on:

UK On eBay UK:
Check prices for these coins in the eBay Coins Category

List of items on: