1986 Gold 3-Coin Sovereign Proof Set

1986 Gold 3-Coin Sovereign Proof Set consists of:

  • 1986 Gold Double Sovereign (1986 Commonwealth Games Gold £2)
  • 1986 Gold Sovereign
  • 1986 Gold Half-Sovereign

Queen Elizabeth II's third portrait can be seen on the obverse of all three coins, designed by Raphael Maklouf.

Benedetto Pistrucci's famous portrayal of St. George slaying the dragon is depicted on the reverses of the sovereign and half sovereign. The two pound piece features a design by Norman Sillman to commemorate the 1986 Commonwealth Games which took place in Scotland. St. Andrew's cross with a crown of laurel leaves, surmounted by a thistle of Scotland with date '1986' above can be seen.

The three coins are all made of solid 22 carat gold (Gold fineness of 0.916), and are housed in their original Royal Mint acrylic screw top capsules.

The coins are presented in their Royal Mint red leatherette presentation case, accompanied with an individually numbered certificate of authenticity.

12,500 sets were issued by the Royal Mint in 1986.

Coin Weights (Grams)
  • Two Pounds 15.98g
  • Sovereign 7.98g
  • Half Sovereign 3.99g

Mintage: 12,500 (may include coins in sets)
Minted at The Royal Mint.
Remember 1986 ?
Monarch is Queen Elizabeth II. Prime Minister is Margaret Thatcher (Conservative). US President is Ronald Reagan. The "Big Bang" deregulation of the financial markets. UK and France announce plans to build a Channel tunnel. Commonwealth Games are held in Edinburgh. M25 completed. First case of BSE "Mad Cow" in cattle.
Elizabeth II (1952-Present)
Queen Elizabeth II is the current and longest reigning monarch ever. Born on 21 April 1926 to King George VI and Elizabeth Bowes-Lyon, she became Queen in 1952 and her Coronation was on 2 June 1953.

Queen Elizabeth II has issued many coins and was monarch during decimalisation.
General Description: Gold 3-Coin Sets
Gold 3-Coin Sets have been made by the Royal Mint since the early 1980's. The 3 coins can vary so you should check the documentation carefully. In 2010, the Royal Mint started to issue two sets per year; the standard set has a sovereign, half-sovereign and quarter-sovereign, and the premium set has double-sovereign, sovereign and half-sovereign.
Which Mint: The Royal Mint
The Royal Mint is the designated place for the UK to mint coins. It dates back well over 1000 years and is a Government-owned company. 

Formed in the reign of Alfred the Great about the year 886, during the period 1279-1812 it was generally referred to as The Tower Mint as it was housed at the Tower of London. The Master of The Royal Mint has included famous figures such as Sir Isaac Newton.

Since 2010 it has operated as Royal Mint Ltd, a company owned by HM Treasury, under an exclusive contract to supply all coinage for the UK although it also produces medals and coins for other countries. It is currently located at Llantrisant, Wales.

There is also an on-line shop at The Royal Mint Shop.
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
The United Kingdom (UK) is the Union of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is often refered to as Great Britain (GBR). It has a long, rich history.

The orignal coinage was Pounds, Shillings and Pence but since decimalisation on 15 February 1971, it is £1 = 100p, that is One Pound = 100 pence. The coinage of the UK is also a long history, the Royal Mint being established as long ago as 886AD when coins were hammered. Today there is perhaps 30 billion coins in circulation, and many (numismatic) collectors coins and sets are issued frequently in gold, silver and other metals.
If you don't see a coin in the list below try the Gold 3-Coin Sets page on eBay UK

List of items on:

UK On eBay UK:
1986 Royal Mint Red Sovereign Gold Proof 3 Coin Set Box & Coa Only No Coins
1986 Royal Mint Red Sovereign Gold Proof 3 Coin Set Box & Coa Only No Coins
£ 85.45
1986 Great Britain 3 Coin Gold 1/2, 1 & £2 Sovereign Proof Set w. Box Lot#B1002
1986 Great Britain 3 Coin Gold 1/2, 1 & £2 Sovereign Proof Set w. Box Lot#B1002
£ 1,649.89

List of items on: