1887 Gold Sovereign Proof 4-Coin Set

1887 Queen Victoria Gold 4-Coin Sovereign Proof Set consists of:

  • 1887 Gold Proof Five-Poind Coin (Quintuple Sovereign)
  • 1887 Gold Double Sovereign
  • 1887 Gold Sovereign
  • 1887 Gold Half-Sovereign

All four coins depict the portrait of Queen Victoria on the obverse, and Benedetto Pistrucci's famous portrayal of St. George and the dragon on the reverse except the half-sovereign which is a Shieldback.

Only 797 sets were issued by the Royal Mint in 1887. The set shown was originally part of an 11 coin proof set, but the silver coinage was sold seperately many years ago. The case is also missing. Even in this state the set is worth maybe £35,000.

1887 Gold Five-Pound Obverse
The coins are all in near FDC condition, with minimal hairlines in the fields.

1887 Gold Five-Pound Reverse
It is certainly one of the nicest examples seen.

1887 Gold Half-Sovereign Reverse

The portraits would be classed as Deep Cameo.

Mintage: 797 (may include coins in sets)
Minted at The Royal Mint.
Remember 1887 ?
The Monarch is Queen Victoria, who in June celebrated her Golden Jubilee for 50 years of her reign. Prime Minister is Robert Gascoyne-Cecil, 3rd Marquess of Salisbury (Conservative). US President is Grover Cleveland (Democrat). St John Ambulance Brigade is introduced. Hammersmith Bridge opens in London. The Hovis process for making breadmaking flour is patented. Celtic F.C. is formed in Glasgow. The first Sherlock Holmes novel A Study in Scarlet by Arthur Conan Doyle is published. Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show opens in London. Glenfiddich single malt Scotch whisky first distilled.
Victoria (1837-1901)
Victoria was Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland from 20 June 1837 until her death. From 1 May 1876, she adopted the additional title of Empress of India. Victoria ruled for 64 years, a record only recently surpassed by Queen Elizabeth II.
Victoria's parents were Prince Edward, Duke of Kent and Strathern, and Princess Victoria of Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld. She married Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, who later became known as Prince Albert. Victoria had nine children, the eldest son succeeding her as Edward VII.

Victoria posed for a number of head portraits, but there are generally three major variants: Young Head (1838-1887) by William Wyon, RA; Jubilee Head (1887-1893) by Sir Joseph Edgar Boehm and Old Head (1893-1901) by by Sir Thomas Brock.

General Description: Gold 4-Coin Sets
Which Mint: The Royal Mint
The Royal Mint is the designated place for the UK to mint coins. It dates back well over 1000 years and is a Government-owned company. 

Formed in the reign of Alfred the Great about the year 886, during the period 1279-1812 it was generally referred to as The Tower Mint as it was housed at the Tower of London. The Master of The Royal Mint has included famous figures such as Sir Isaac Newton.

Since 2010 it has operated as Royal Mint Ltd, a company owned by HM Treasury, under an exclusive contract to supply all coinage for the UK although it also produces medals and coins for other countries. It is currently located at Llantrisant, Wales.

There is also an on-line shop at The Royal Mint Shop.
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
The United Kingdom (UK) is the Union of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is often refered to as Great Britain (GBR). It has a long, rich history.

The orignal coinage was Pounds, Shillings and Pence but since decimalisation on 15 February 1971, it is £1 = 100p, that is One Pound = 100 pence. The coinage of the UK is also a long history, the Royal Mint being established as long ago as 886AD when coins were hammered. Today there is perhaps 30 billion coins in circulation, and many (numismatic) collectors coins and sets are issued frequently in gold, silver and other metals.
If you don't see a coin in the list below try the Gold 4-Coin Sets page on eBay UK

List of items on:

UK On eBay UK:
Check prices for these coins in the eBay Coins Category

List of items on: