1849 Groat – Queen Victoria

The 1849 Groat - Victoria

Silver Groat (4 pence) coin of Queen Victoria. SCBC: 3913. There are some coins with 9 over 8 overstrike.

The Reverse shows a seated Britannia.

The Obverse shows a young head portrait of Queen Victoria.

Image credit: M J Hughes Coins.

Mintage: 380,000 (may include coins in sets)
Minted at The Royal Mint.
Remember 1849 ?
Monarch is Queen Victoria. Prime Minister is Lord John Russell (Whig). US President is James Knox Polk (D-Tennessee), and then on March 4 it is Zachary Taylor (W-Kentucky). Polk is the first sitting US President to have his photograph taken. Elizabeth Blackwell becomes the United States' first woman doctor. Karl Marx moves from Paris to London (and lives there until his death). Charles Dickens serialises David Copperfield. The design of the Staunton chess set is registered by Nathaniel Cooke. Two shilling coin (florin), showing the Queen wearing a crown, is introduced partly to test public opinion on possible decimalization of the currency.
Victoria (1837-1901)
Victoria was Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland from 20 June 1837 until her death. From 1 May 1876, she adopted the additional title of Empress of India. Victoria ruled for 64 years, a record only recently surpassed by Queen Elizabeth II.
Victoria's parents were Prince Edward, Duke of Kent and Strathern, and Princess Victoria of Saxe-Coburg-Saalfeld. She married Albert of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, who later became known as Prince Albert. Victoria had nine children, the eldest son succeeding her as Edward VII.

Victoria posed for a number of head portraits, but there are generally three major variants: Young Head (1838-1887) by William Wyon, RA; Jubilee Head (1887-1893) by Sir Joseph Edgar Boehm and Old Head (1893-1901) by by Sir Thomas Brock.

General Description: Groat
The Groat is an old coin worth four pence. It was found in England, Ireland and Scotland. The English Groat can be traced back to Edward I and was minted (not every year) up until Victoria although the fourpence coin is still minted today for use in Maundy sets.
Which Mint: The Royal Mint
The Royal Mint is the designated place for the UK to mint coins. It dates back well over 1000 years and is a Government-owned company. 

Formed in the reign of Alfred the Great about the year 886, during the period 1279-1812 it was generally referred to as The Tower Mint as it was housed at the Tower of London. The Master of The Royal Mint has included famous figures such as Sir Isaac Newton.

Since 2010 it has operated as Royal Mint Ltd, a company owned by HM Treasury, under an exclusive contract to supply all coinage for the UK although it also produces medals and coins for other countries. It is currently located at Llantrisant, Wales.

There is also an on-line shop at The Royal Mint Shop.
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
The United Kingdom (UK) is the Union of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It is often refered to as Great Britain (GBR). It has a long, rich history.

The orignal coinage was Pounds, Shillings and Pence but since decimalisation on 15 February 1971, it is £1 = 100p, that is One Pound = 100 pence. The coinage of the UK is also a long history, the Royal Mint being established as long ago as 886AD when coins were hammered. Today there is perhaps 30 billion coins in circulation, and many (numismatic) collectors coins and sets are issued frequently in gold, silver and other metals.
If you don't see a coin in the list below try the Groat page on eBay UK

List of items on:

USA On eBay USA:
Check prices for these coins in the eBay Coins Category

List of items on: